Skip to content

Attention Jane Austen fans: a sequel to “Pride & Prejudice” that is a real winner!

November 11, 2010

Hi all!

It’s been a while since I had a chance to blog.  As usual, life, children, and cakes have taken all of my time and energy.  However, I have been reading like a good little girl, and I wanted to share my new favorite books.

First of all, you should know that I love all things Jane Austen.  “Pride & Prejudice” is my favorite of her books but I also adored “Persuasion”, “Sense & Sensibility“, “Emma”, “Mansfield Park” and “Northanger Abbey”.  In addition to reading the books, I also either own or have seen the movie versions of each (BTW, the 2005 version of “P&P” is fabulous – Kiera Knightly plays a spectacular Eliza Bennett and Matthew Macfadyen is a delicious Mr. Darcy).  I even went to the Jane Austen Museum in Bath, England, which is well worth visiting to learn about Jane’s life, the era in which she lived and how it influenced her writing.  In fact, I love Jane Austen and “Pride & Prejudice” so much that the romantic hero of my next book, “The Art of Love” (whose publication date has been pushed back to 2011), has a name based on characters from it!  But I digress…

http://bytesrandom.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/pride-and-prejudice-dvdcover-2005.jpg

My favorite movie version of "Pride & Prejudice" starring Kiera Knightly and Matthew Macfayden...although I did love the Colin Firth version too....

Since “Pride & Prejudice” is my favorite of Austen’s books and undoubtedly one of her most famous, many an author and fans have attempted to write sequels to the story.  Who hasn’t asked themselves upon finishing the novel what happened after Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett got married?  Did they live happily ever after or did they live to regret their union?  Book after book has been written in this vein, but of the ones I have read, not many have been very good.

Until now.

I recently decided to reread the original book but after searching high and low, couldn’t find my copy – oh the horror!  So I ran out to Barnes and Noble and found a copy whose cover looks just like Stephenie Meyer‘s “Twilight” (for those of you who know me well, you can imagine my excitement that my favorite teen novel and my favorite all-time book now share similar covers – and what a clever marketing ploy on behalf of the publisher, too).  I purchased the book and headed home to start reading it – AGAIN.

https://christinacorlett.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/prideandprejudice.jpg?w=199

Doesn't this look a lot like Stephenie Meyers's "Twilight"???

Over the next few days, I was in Darcy/Bennett heaven, sighing intermittently, causing my husband to shake his head and roll his eyes at what he deemed my silly romanticism.  As with anything I obsess over, I began scouring the Internet for more to feed my addiction.  I Googled “sequels to Pride & Prejudice” and poured over the lists I found, skipping the ones I had already read and dismissing those that sounded too far-fetched to even bother with.  Then, I struck gold: a trilogy written by a fellow Jane Austen addict and librarian that is the story of “Pride & Prejudice” as told from the perspective of Mr. Darcy himself.  Where had these wonderful books been hiding all my life?  The author, Pamela Aidan, published them back in 2007.

The books, in order, are “An Assembly Such as This” (chronicling from when Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth meet to when they part ways after the ball at Netherfield), “Duty & Desire” (an in-depth look at the “silent” time during which Mr. Darcy was absent from Elizabeth’s life until right before they met again at Rosings), and “These Three Remain” (from their reconnection while she visits her friend to his disastrous marriage proposal through his journey of self discovery until they finally marry).  The first is a mirror-image of Elizabeth’s story; the second is a little slow at times and mostly an original story by Ms. Aidan since Jane Austen did not tell us what Mr. Darcy did while he was away from Elizabeth for those few weeks; and the third beautifully shows us how our beloved but proud hero changes to become the man Elizabeth will marry and who we grow to love as well.

https://i1.wp.com/www.coverbrowser.com/image/bestsellers-2006/3147-1.jpghttp://ecimages.kobobooks.com/Image.ashx?imageID=0zEfkXdHDky8AvvGNl8tWA&Type=Fullhttps://i0.wp.com/torchundertheblanketbooks.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/fitzdarcy3.jpg

Ms. Aidan does a splendid job of deepening our understanding of characters we already love, developing those we wished we knew more about, and introducing wonderful new characters to love and cheer on, of which my favorites are Fletcher, Mr. Darcy’s personal valet, and Dy Brougham, Darcy’s friend and a real hero in his own right.

But what are you waiting for?  Don’t take my word for it!  Get out and get your hands on copies of these three books – you won’t regret it!

Happy reading!

Christina

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 6:33 PM

    I’ve had these on my reading list for awhile, thank you for reminding me of them.

    • christinacorlett permalink*
      November 11, 2010 7:11 PM

      Katherine – so glad I could be of help! I just can’t say enough how much I enjoyed them. It was so great to be able to get into the character of Mr. Darcy and see what made him tick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

